On to Atlanta

We left Memphis and were thrilled to be on our way to Atlanta!

Got Edgar in the car, loaded up our bags in our little Ford Aspire, turned the air conditioner that works sometimes on to high and hoped for the best.

As we’re driving along 40 east I notice a sign promoting Casey Jones’ Village near in Jackson, TN. We haven’t really stopped and done anything touristy, so I figured we’d stop and check it out.

We took a look around, walked the dog and noticed this:

Not again!

So we went across the street to Wal-Mart and bought 2 tires. Yep, 2. Remember the first one that blew in Albuquerque? Susan was at the front counter of the service department and she’s AWESOME! She helped me with the tires, has a great sense of humor, and she bought a copy of 10 Things College Students Need to Know About Money. It turns out that 1 of her 3 kids works as a financial planner and she thought that she would be interested in the book. She especially loved the forward in 10 Things College Students Need to Know About Money.

Susan (on the left) and her co-worker Tracy in Jackson, TN.

People usually love me or hate me. I’m very straight forward, I don’t take a lot of guff, and I’m honest to a fault. Just when I think those are bad qualities I meet someone like Susan that reminds me that I’m an okay person and some people enjoy that I don’t play a lot of games.

Thanks, Susan!

Our beautiful little 1994 Ford Aspire was back on the road and we were headed for Atlanta. I can’t believer we’re half way through our trip. I know some of you didn’t think we’d make it, but ha! I should get a pool going to see who thinks we’ll make it. I’m taking all bets and I’m going all in! LOL

Tonight I have a book signing at Nubian Bookstore in Southlake Mall from 5pm – 7pm. I’d love to see you there.

Edgar and I waiting for the car in Jackson, TN.

=)

PEACE,
Shay

About Bigger Than Your Block

Shay Olivarria is the most dynamic financial education speaker working today. She has written three books on personal finance, including Amazon Best Seller “Money Matters: The Get It Done in 1 Minute Workbook”. The second edition of 10 Things College Students Need to Know About Money will be released June 2016. She's been quoted on Bankrate.com, FoxBusiness.com, and The Credit Union Times, among others. To schedule Shay to speak at your event or to find out more about her work, visit her at www.BiggerThanYourBlock.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to On to Atlanta

  1. Pingback: Stuck in Dallas | Cross Country in a Ford

Leave a comment